Olympics Photo of the Day

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

1952 Summer Olympics

The 1952 Summer Olympics, officially known as the Games of the XV Olympiad, were held in 1952 in Helsinki, Finland. Helsinki had been elected as the host city over Amsterdam, Athens, Lausanne, and Stockholm and five American cities: Chicago, Detroit, Los Angeles, Minneapolis and Philadelphia. Helsinki had been given the 1940 Summer Olympics but they were canceled because of World War II.
[change]Participating nations

A total of 69 nations participated in these Games, up from 59 in the 1948 Games. Twelve nations made their first Olympic appearance in 1952: The Bahamas, Gold Coast (now Ghana), Guatemala, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Netherlands Antilles, Nigeria, Saar, the Soviet Union (USSR), Thailand, and Vietnam.
 British Guiana
 Republic of China
 West Germany
 Gold Coast
 Great Britain
 Hong Kong
 South Korea
 Netherlands Antilles
 New Zealand
 Puerto Rico
 South Africa
 Soviet Union
 Trinidad and Tobago
 United States