Olympics Photo of the Day

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

1920 Summer Olympics

The 1920 Summer Olympics, officially known as the Games of the VII Olympiad, were held in 1920 in Antwerp, Belgium. The 1920 Games were awarded to Antwerp to honour the suffering of the Belgian people during World War I. [1]
The 1916 Summer Olympics, to be held in the German Empire capital Berlin had been cancelled. The results of World War I and the Versailles Peace Conference affected the Olympic Games because new states were created. The Games were also affected by sanctions against the nations that lost the war and received the blame for starting it.
Budapest was going to host the 1920 games. However, the Austro-Hungarian Empire had been an ally of Germany in the First World War. Because of this, the (now independent) Hungary lost the right to hold the games, and was not even allowed to take part. Germany, Austria, Bulgaria and Turkey were also banned from the 1920 Summer Olympics.

Participating nations

A total of 29 nations participated in the Antwerp Games, only one more than in 1912, as Germany, Austria, Hungary, Bulgaria and Turkey were not invited. From the newly-created European states, only Estonia and Czechoslovakia took part. The Yugoslavia, Brazil, Finland and Monaco competed as nations at the Olympic Games for the first time. New Zealand, which had competed as part of a combined team with Australia in 1908 and 1912, competed on its own for the first time.
{ Denmark
 Great Britain
 Empire of Japan
 New Zealand
 Union of South Africa
 United States
 Kingdom of Yugoslavia