Olympics Photo of the Day

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

1908 Summer Olympics

The 1908 Summer Olympics, officially known as the Games of the IV Olympiad, were held in 1908 in London, England. These games were originally scheduled to be held in Rome. At the time, they were the fifth modern Olympic games. However, it was later decided that the 1906 Summer Olympics would not be considered an official Olmpiad.
Italian authorities were preparing for the Games when Mount Vesuvius erupted on April 7, 1906, devastating the nearby city of Naples. Money that would have gone to the Olympics in Rome were used to help re-construct Naples. London was then selected to host the Games, and they were held in White City alongside the Franco-British Exhibition, which at the time was the more noteworthy event. Berlin and Milan were the other candidates.

Participating nations

The 1908 Games had athletes representing 22 National Olympic Committees. Argentina, Finland, Turkey, and New Zealand (as part of the team from Australasia) made their first appearance at the Olympic Games.
 German Empire
 Great Britain
 Russian Empire
 Union of South Africa
 Ottoman Empire
 United States